Competition Prize Holders

The names listed for the competitions shown here are the current holders of each.
Records of recent years are displayed on the notice boards in the clubhouse.
For lists of all the prizes for recent major events click: Results - Results & Knockouts above.

Note that Covid caused some events to be cancelled for one or two seasons.

Men - 36 Hole Majors

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2021 Walker Cup Grant English Lea Budd
2021 President's Cup David Smedley Adursh Ruparelia
2021 Captain's Cup Mark Brough Chris Hobson
2021 Leon Allen Trophy Doug Banks Tim Richardson

Men - Knockouts

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2021/22 Priestley Cup Paul Allen Paul Buckley
2021/22 Vice Captain's Prize Mark Bennehan & David Holland Ray Hill & Andrew Johnstone
2021 Abbey Shield Matthew Clayton Michael Ward
2021 Club Trophy Cancelled  
2021 Charity Cup Michael Ward Kenny White
2021 Pye Cup Craig Fuller & Richard Moore Andrew Johnstone & Gary Warhurst

Men - Scratch Events

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2021 Scratch Cup Cancelled  
2021 Scratch Medal Ross Gibson Russell Gray

Men - Other Competitions

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2020/21 Man for All Seasons - Division 1 Cancelled  
2020/21 Man for All Seasons - Division 2 Cancelled  
2022 Foursomes Medal Paul Archer & David Leverton Chris Gray & Stephen Walls
2021 Past Captains' Cup Ray Hill Michael McHale
2021 Top Dogs Trophy David Leverton & Daniel Robertson Michael Joyce & Gary Wildgoose


Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2021 Junior Knockout Cup Cancelled  

Ladies - Trophy Competitions

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2021 Collette Shield Jean Lewis Karen McGuinness
2021 Margery Hague Rose Bowl Jean Lewis Maureen Gray
2021 Pennine Trophy Liz Cass & Angela Rowson Vicky Hill & Ann Islip
2021 Scratch Salver Laura Richardson Kate Wheatley
2021 President's Day Ladies Trophy Helen Hilton Sarah Temperton
2022 Individual Competition - Division 1 Angela Rowson Kath Mowforth
2022 Individual Competition - Division 2 Elaine Parkinson Ann Islip

Ladies - Knockouts

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2021 Barlow Trophy Cancelled  
2021 Challenge Bowl Lorraine Clark Elizabeth Botha
2021 Margerrison Cup Cancelled  
2021 Dr Kay Abbott Trophy Liz Cass Celia Yeardley
2021 Matchplay Trophy Cancelled  
2021/22 Winter Singles - Division 1 Lorraine Clark Sally Wademan
2021/22 Winter Singles - Division 2 Ann Islip Ann Whitfield
2021/22 Winter Pairs Alison Martin & Janice Sampson Ann Islip & Vicky Smith

Ladies - Year Long Competitions

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2021 Medal Final Karen McGuinness Laurel Sutcliffe
2021 Stableford Final Beverley Watson Sarah Temperton
2021 England Golf Medal (4 best cards)    

Ladies - Season Meetings

Meeting Best Gross Best Nett Front 9 Nett Back 9 Nett Least Putts
Spring 2022 Laura Richardson 81 Karen McGuinness 65 Tracey Hayes 34 Sally Wademan 32 Helen Richardson 29
Summer 2021 Sue Murby Carol Turner Vicky Smith Laura Richardson Laurel Sutcliffe
Autumn 2021 Sally Wademan Jan Coldwell Tracey Heyes Sue Murby Ann Whitfield

Ladies - Annual Competitions

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2019/20 16 Hole Competition - November to February T Heyes K Stacey
2021 Putting Prize Tracey Heyes  
2022 Par Competition Lynda Lowthorpe Hazel Foster
2021 Four Club Competition Cancelled  
2021 Five Club Competition Cancelled  
2022 Rabbits Trophy Pamela Tatton Liz Cass
2021 Summer Eclectic - March to October Cancelled  
2020/21 Woman For All Seasons - Elaine Brown Trophy Laura Richardson Liz Crawford
2021 Ann Kirkby Away Day Clock Karen Dunn  

Mixed Events

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2021 Mixed Shield Lorraine Clark & Paul Allen Carol Turner & Graham Mirfin
2021 Abbey Cup Lorraine Clark & Doug Brooke Janice Sampson & Wayne Leaper
2021 Dixon Trophy Cancelled  
2021 Athorn Cup Cancelled  
2021 Richard Betts Trophy Doug Brooke Tim Richardson
2021 President's Challenge George Gibson & Martin Merrill Paul Archer & Richard O'Toole
2021 Christmas Fiddle Stag Shield Grant English & Jason English Colin Foster & Chris Shepherd

Men - Rabbits

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2021 Knockout Cup Ian Bell Gary Wetherill
2021 Bridgwater Trophy Mark Reynolds Simon Temperton

Men - Seniors & Veterans

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2021/22 Seniors Winter Singles Knockout Michael Joyce Nigel Hargreaves
2021 Doug Pagdin Trophy Ian Bywater Raymond Hill
2021 Seniors Singles Knockout Ian Bell Richard Moore
2021 Seniors Betterball Knockout Ray Hill & Andrew Johnstone Bob Evans & Ted Kirkman
2021 Veterans Trophy Steve Walls Russell Gray

Men - Medals Finals

Year Competition Winners Runners Up
2020/21 Saturday Division 1 Gary Warhurst Jamie Bennett
2020/21 Saturday Division 2 Doug Brooke Darrell Copeland
2020/21 Thursday Division 1 David Parkinson Gary Wildgoose
2020/21 Thursday Division 2 Eric Erabadda Craig Harrop
2020/21 Sunday Division 1 Matthew Clayton Jamie Bennett
2020/21 Sunday Division 2 Timucin Altinpinar Doug Banks
2020/21 Seniors Division 1 Nigel Hargreaves Peter Brown
2020/21 Seniors Division 2 John Whitfield Paul Mowforth

Inter Club Challenges

Year Versus Winners
2021 Tankersley Park - Mark Trippett Memorial Challenge for The 'Trip' Trophy Beauchief
2021 Dukinfield - Fred LInage Memorial Shield Cancelled
2021 Birley Wood & Tinsley Park - Buster Ramsden Rabbits Trophy Cancelled
2021 Tinsley Park Tinsley Park
2021 Tapton Park Tapton Park
2021 Chatsworth Chatsworth


Year Competition Winners
2021 Lady Captain's Team v Men's Captain's Team Lady Captain's Team
2021 President's Team v Captains' Team The Captains
2021 Men's Captain's Team v Junior Captain's Team The Juniors
2021 Men's Captain's Team v Rabbits (Men) Team Cancelled
2021 Ladies Team v Rabbits (Men) Team The Rabbits
2021 Ladies Team v Seniors (Men) Team The Ladies

Juniors Achievements

Year Achievement Winners
2021 Golfer of the Year Holly Chance
2021 Most Improved Golfer - Junior Cup Taimur Ilyeas

Ladies Achievements

Club Champion based on 6 Best Medal scores plus Colette Shield, Margery Hague Rose Bowl and Spring, Summer & Autumn Meetings

Year Achievement Winners Notes
2021 Club Champion Elize Botha  
2021 Most Improved Golfer Elize Botha Greatest % Handicap Reduction over 12 months

Men's Achievements

Golfer of the Year based on Order of Merit Points awarded in Monthly Medals, 36 Hole Major Medals, Members Day (Individual) and Singles Matchplay Knockouts

Year Achievement Winners Notes
2021 Golfer of the Year Doug Brooke Best Order of Merit Points
2021 Most Improved Golfer David Midgley Greatest % Handicap Reduction over 12 months